Showing Collections: 101 - 125 of 338
Franklin Moore Letter
A letter from Franklin Moore to his mother, describes the wound his friend Andrew Read received from an artillery shell. He speaks of a fight at Yorktown being the last one his unit will see.
Freeport, Virginia, Civil War Letters
This collection consists of three letters written at Freeport, Virginia by a woman, "Mother", to Sue and Jimmy, and to an unidentified recipient. The content concerns the home front in Gloucester County, Virginia during the Civil War. Baltimore is mentioned.
A. K. Fulton and A. S. Fulton Ledger
Ledger, 1861-1865, of A. K. Fulton and A. S. Fulton, merchants.
Garrett Family Papers
Ira F. Gensel Letter
George B. Cogswell Letter
A photostat of a letter from George B. Cogswell, Newport News, describes the arrival of the Army of the Potomac. He mentions Thomas Burrell, a former slave from near Williamsburg. The collection contains addition information on Burrell, who served in Co. F., 37th Regiment, United States Colored Troops.
George F. Shepley Letter
A letter from George F. Shepley, Brigadier General, in Norfolk, Virginia to Lt. Col. G. A. Kensel, Chief of Staff, concerns rumors of a possible raid by Wade Hampton on Portsmouth, Virginia. He arrested William A. Moppin, who admitted he had been gathering information at the request of James Arthur. He has also arrested Arthur. He asks if he should send them up for Benjamin Butler to examine. A typescript is included.
George Ivy Letter
Letter from George Ivy, Chimborazo Hospital, 4th Division, Ward 6, near Richmond, Va., to "Dear Wife," no place. He replies to her letter and tells her not to sell the land or the cow until he returns home. He sends regards to Mr. Childress and Mr. Casey.
George L. Hersum Letters
This collection consists of letters written by George L. Hersum, Sergeant in the 5th New Hampshire Infantry, Company A, to his wife, while he was stationed in or near Alexandria, Richmond, Yorktown, Harrison's Landing, and Falmouth, Virginia.
George M. Waddy Letters
The collection contains letters from Confederate soldier George M. Waddy to various family members. He discusses the details of camp life and anticipates impending action from the Union Army.
George Offutt Letter
The letter regards mail service along Route No. 2616 and is written on Confederate States of America, Post Office Department, Contract Bureau letterhead. It is signed by George Offutt, Chief of the Contract Bureau.
Augustus C. Golding Papers
Maryann R. Goodwyn Scrapbook
Scrapbook, ca. 1851-1870, of Maryann R. Goodwyn, Sappony, Va. which contains notes on geography and verse, newspaper clippings and a few cartoons relating to the American Civil War.
Grand Army of the Republic. Dept. of Missouri Register
Register of the GAR (Grand Army of the Republic) from Warrensburg, Missouri and surrounding areas. Listed are individual veteran's name, age, birth place, residence, occupation, information on service and discharge, date of muster, rank, regiments served with, reason for discharge, etc.
There are 320 entries, but the first 39 are either missing or incomplete.
H. Fitzhugh Letters
Letters from Chief of Staff H. Fitzhugh, located at headquarters in southwestern Virginia and West Virginia, to several Brigadier Generals and Colonels regarding military matters and special orders.
Robert Gaines Haile Diary
Diary (25 pages), 1862 June 2-25, of Robert Gaines Haile, kept while he was serving in the 55th Virginia Regiment, Confederate Army, during the Seven Days Battle near Richmond, Virginia. Mentions the death of William Latane.
Harman A. Hiner Letter
Letter from Harman A. Hiner, camp near Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania County, Va., to Miss Victoria Jane Wilson, Wilsonville, Highland County, Va. He will send her a camp song about a man who came into camp to sell eggs. He talked with some Yankees when he was on picket duty and some said the war would be over in the fall. He relates tales of "warlike" activities in camp. He mentions he and the boys are getting their pictures taken.
H. Harman Memorandum Book
Memorandum book of H. Harman of Montgomery County, Virginia. Accounts deal with farming activity, noting his purchases and money owed to him. Some entries are related to the activities of the Civil War in his community. On April 20, 1863 he mentions sending Capt. Milton Harmon a pair of shoes. 154 pages.
Hart Papers I and II
Maximilian Hartman Diaries
H.B. Lung Letter
Letter from H.B. Lung [?], Lt. Col. Commanding, 62nd Va. Regt., to Col. Hoffman, Adjutant, 31st Va. Regt. He praises members of his regiment--Elisha McCloud, Jr., Robert MLaughlin, Jacob McLaughlin, Jacob Sheets, George Wilfing, Zachariah Swink, F.M. Trimble,and Elisha McCloud, Sr.. He does not approve of their leaving the 31st Regt., but thinks leniency should be shown them. He wished them to be transferred to the 62nd Va. Regt.
Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book
Henrietta B. Lee Letter
Letter from Henrietta B. Lee, Shepherdstown, W. Va., to General David Hunter. She angrily denounces him and his underling Captain Martindale for the burning of her home. Typescript.